Posted by: w4mkh | August 7, 2008

Welcome

I’m a ham operator living in northeast Florida. I’ve been around ham radio since I first got interested in the early ’70s but I didn’t get licensed until May of 2006 when I took my Technician test. Since then I have been active on the local repeaters. In July of 2007 I tested for General and’passed while attending a hamfest in Asheville NC. I’m heavily involved with ARES in St. Johns county Florida as well as SkyWARN and you can usually find me on the 145.210 repeater or one of the other local repeaters.

My pride and joy it the Yaesu FT-920 that I picked up last weekend. I just love this rig. The receive is awesome and the radio reports I get say that I have great audio. Currently I’m running an Icom IC-2200H on 2 meters and I have an Icom IC-718 for field work.  My hope for this site is to provide information about ham radio in northeast Florida and document my journey. I will be including pictures of my shack, software that I use and a blog of my on-air activities. I’m not into contesting (yet) but I do like chasing DX as well as just rag-chewing.


Leave a comment

Categories